A Giant Mistake That Slowed Down My Online Career and What You Can Learn

16 Oct
Online Business Path

Life in the School of Hard Knocks

The cyber world is vast, online businesses can turn rags to riches overnight, young people easily become successful online, … are the words that caught my attention when I began my online career. For six years, I tried hard to become Online Affiliate Marketer- make huge money one day and become a celebrity the next day. I just wanted to BE A MILLIONAIRE so badly.  Unfortunately, the way online marketers promote the ‘Get Rich Quick’ idea did not help matters at all. For me, I was doing everything the wrong way.

How I Made Unproductive Efforts

First, I got into autosurfing (a real scam). I paid a couple of bucks and had to view roughly 15 adverts everyday to earn about 15% of what I paid but lost all the money overnight. Later, I started blogging but didn’t learn anything on how to blog successfully. I posted 10 articles one day and waited till the following month before posting something new. I tried to get my friends (on Facebook) to visit my blog, but they never really visited. Even when they visited my blog, none of them returned.  This continued for about six months without substantial visitors to the blog.  In short I made many unproductive efforts.

What I Learnt about Productive Efforts: The Law of Growth

Any business at all should follow the rules of nature: the time of sowing, nurturing, growth, maturity, bearing fruits, and new growth.

Eventually, I became a Professional Web Content Provider. How? I followed the laws of nature and it works for every venture.

Sowing of Seeds: Plant your Idea(s)

Seeds must be sown to reap a harvest sooner or later.

After conceiving the ide

a of writing, I decided to find a good platform where I could write and develop my skills within a short time. I chose a forum (forums.digitalpoint.com) and began active writing. Though I had to sell my articles cheap, I had the wonderful opportunity of developing myself. Also, I could always contact my buyers to suggest how to serve them better – I sowed my seeds.

Nurturing of Business

Planted seeds need constant watering and monitoring till they grow up.

As you already know, I didn’t start writing for quick money. So, I treated all my customers with respect and created a personal relationship with them. I got interested in their businesses and how I could help. Also, I began to spend quality time to develop my abilities and knowledge. Additionally, I had to get rid of weeds (competitors for my money) by providing a better service. I secured my space- made sure my customers trusted my service.

Growth to Maturity: Build your Business

Every plant eventually becomes mature and stops growing. Sometimes, the law of diminishing returns may set in.

This is the stage I am presently.

Sorry folks, I can’t tell you the plans I have, but you can always guess: I plan to get more organized and better paid. How? I’ll tell you when I start.

Bearing of Fruits or Seeds: Diversify

As soon as my business grows to maturity, I have to diversify. This could mean expanding

by getting a team of writers or venturing into new grounds.

Starting all Over

Finally, I can apply the same law that helped me grow in the first business to a new business.

What You Should Learn

The cyber world is vast: That means, you can be easily missed among the millions of people online.

Online businesses can turn rags to riches overnight, but they can also turn riches to rag in a day.

Young people easily become successful online, but they are often easily carried away in unproductive ventures; always wanting easier work and more money. Until, you are willing to do the required work, you may not be able to succeed. Ask one of the top bloggers, Brian Clark, and he’ll tell you the meaning of harwork.

You know what’s a lot of work? Running a bricks and mortar business. 12 hour days, 7 days a week, 52 weeks a year. Maybe after a couple of successful years you’ll let yourself take a weekend off.”

The 7 Deadly Sins of Blogging

Final thoughts

You can save yourself a lot of headache if you:

  • Get a mentor
  • Get a model
  • Have a focus
  • Have a target
  • Be yourself

Lastly, learn to improvise, adapt, improve, diversify, and start all over until you become what you initially wanted to be.

Further Reading for Beginners on the Internet

  1. 9 Tips You Need to Write and Respond to Emails Professionally
  2. Social Networking Vs Blogging & Email Vs SMS – Struggle For Existence
  3. 2 Powerful Secrets: Accelerate Your Effectiveness by Laying Hold of Secrets
  4. The 3 Critical Ingredients of Good Web Content
  5. The Beginner’s Guide to Writing- 7 SIMPLE TIPS

 

2 Responses to “A Giant Mistake That Slowed Down My Online Career and What You Can Learn”

  1. Heidy January 26, 2011 at 6:28 am #

    *Oh my goodness! an amazing article dude. Thank you However I am experiencing issue with ur rss . Don�t know why Unable to subscribe to it. Is there anyone getting identical rss problem? Anyone who knows kindly respond. Thnkx

  2. 12 month millionaire vincent james February 1, 2011 at 8:11 pm #

    I imply, I do know it was my choice to read, but I actually thought youd have one thing attention-grabbing to say.

Leave a Reply

